What I’ve Been Doing

I’m about to post on the Guardian’s Activate09 conference, and as it’s been a while since I’ve written here, a bit of an update is in order.

For the last 18 months or so I’ve been working at Carphone Warehouse on their CRM application, focusing on performance, and making sure it can do more with less as the number of customers increases. The application (it’s Java-based) seems to be holding up well and I’m probably going to need a new challenge soon.

There have been a few other things going on, like a 3 month home renovation, and the frenetic pace of family life; what free time remains has been spent on a project which plans to do a better job of presenting up to date information about local businesses. It’s an increasingly crowded space for startups, but when I launch, which should be this year, I hope people will find it useful. As part of this I’ve been exploring new languages, including PHP, Ruby and Groovy.

Leave a Reply

