How Do You Manage Your Contacts?

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been looking at backing up contacts by SMS.

I’m doing this partly because it’s something I would find useful myself – I want to be able to get the information off my phone to somewhere else when I may not have the option of cables or another Bluetooth device – but also because it’s a focus to do some non-Java work (which occupies my daytime).

And I know that there are certainly more technologically sophisticated options available, particularly on my Nokia N95, but the good thing about SMS is that it provides a lowest common denominator across a range of models (so other people could use it too); the downside, of course, is that it restricts you to one contact per SMS, and there is a cost per message, but most networks bundle a certain number of free text messages per month. I’m focusing specifically on mobile (smart)phones for now because that seems to be the one piece of kit people keep with them most of the time.

So far I haven’t found an easy to use solution that just works. The boys at Soocial set high expectations at the Future of Web Apps and I’m eagerly awaiting their app. In the meantime, the options as far as I can tell are to backup via your PC (using Bluetooth/IR/cable) or use one of the many services like Yahoo! Mobile and Mobyko that claim to do this for you. I’m with Orange, and they have a service that allows you to synchronise by SyncML but I’ve been having problems setting it up.

So I would really like to get your views on this? Is it a problem that needs to be solved? Or has it been done already?

And are there any features that you have been looking for, but not found yet, such as getting the number for a mutual friend of someone you already have in your phone book (without ringing round until you find someone who has it).

Is a phone backup service something you would — or actually do — pay for?

Please share your experiences, and views.

4 Responses to How Do You Manage Your Contacts?

  1. Diana says:

    Certainly i would pay for one such service because i cannot survive having lost all my contacts. But as you have already mentioned in your post, there are other free options available and they are pretty much secure. I backup my phone with zyb.com and it works well with my phone and i must say i am a satisfied zyb user. However, i cannot really comment on services like mobyko or yahoo! Mobile because i haven’t used them.

  2. Hello Diana, I’ve had a look at ZYB and so far it looks good. The setup and synchronise worked first time. Thanks!

  3. Amy says:

    I recently started using Mobyko adn have found them really good. You can back up all your phone numbers and if you want to save texts you can send them to the website too. They also have nice pictures you can download to your mobile. REally happy with it.

  4. Hello Amy, Mobyko sign-up worked for me too, and I managed to sync my contacts (so it matched what I was able to do with ZYB). I was initially sceptical as to whether the synchronisation would be easy enough to set up but both ZYB and Mobyko make this straightforward by sending the configuration as a text message. ZYB seems to be focusing on building its reputation for contact storage (it currently claims around 6M), with premium messaging/synchronisation services to follow, whereas Mobyko (with c. 500K contacts) is looking to make money through paid-for content and extra storage. I’d be interested to know which of the premium services users are actually paying for.

Leave a Reply

