Compact Cameras

My camera is starting to show its age, so I’m considering an upgrade.

I thought I’d go for a compact model, that I can keep with me, and the London Paper had a list a couple of months ago that I saved:

  • Best All-Rounder: Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX3 (“Ideal for spur-of-the-moment snaps”)
  • Best for Parties: Casio Exilim EX-V7 (Limited edition)
  • Best for Pockets: Pentax Optio T30 (“Small and light”)
  • Best for Design: Nikon Coolpix S9 Nikon (“Slim, stylish with a ‘wave surface’ design”)
  • Best Budget Buy: Kodak Easyshare V803 (“Easy to use”)
  • Best for Blogs: Fujifilm Finepix Z5FD (“Perfect for posting pictures online”)
  • Best for Holidays: Samsung L74 Wide (“Travellers’ companion”)
  • Best for Picture Quality (Sony Cyber-Shot N2) (“Breaks the 10 megapixel barrier”)

Any recommendations?

4 Responses to Compact Cameras

  1. PredJoe says:

    The Panasonic Lumix is a great camera…it’s as close to a digital SLR that you can get without paying for it. The shutter speed is excelent.

  2. andy says:

    Don’t waste your time on a compact, get an SLR! We spent about £400 on a Nikon D50 and have never looked back – and that’s after having a Sony Cybershot (which was excellent) for three well used years. Phones nowadays are the new compact camera and you’ll always upgrade that, and you can nab them for lower prices.
    PS Are you ever looking for Interactive Producers? And if so, would you mind if I sent you my CV? Cheers

  3. Hello Andy, I have considered an SLR — and have read good reviews about the Nikon and Canon models – but wanted something less bulky. I think you’re right that camera phone quality has improved greatly, however I’ve just upgraded to an N95 from a K750 and find that shutter lag is an issue. Happy to have a look at your CV (andrew at whitehouse dot org dot uk) although I don’t know anyone who needs an Interactive Producer currently.

Leave a Reply

