On Mike Arrington’s call to dissolve the BBC

One of the stories that seems to be getting coverage from FOWA is Mike Arrington’s contention that the BBC should be dissolved.

He did say that, but he followed it with the comment that by launching an online social networking the publicly funded BBC is going to create some problems for at least four or five startups working in that area.

9 Responses to On Mike Arrington’s call to dissolve the BBC

  1. Brendan says:

    Too bad what he said about the BBC launching an online social networking site simply isn’t true…

  2. Hello Brendan,

    Did you follow the link from Mike’s TechCrunch post to the BBC site?

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/6290585.stm

    This announcement reads:
    “[7-12 year olds] would be able to build an online presence, known as an avatar, then create and share content …

    It will give children a chance to move around a safe, secure world where they can not only interact with familiar characters but have an opportunity to make that world a more fascinating place with their own imaginations.”

    You can see video footage of Mike’s comment:

  3. [...] on video and, as you can imagine, I was roundly (and I believe properly) criticized (although see this comment). At best this is none of my business, although I lived in the UK for many years and well remember [...]

  4. [...] on video and, as you can imagine, I was roundly (and I believe properly) criticized (although see this comment). At best this is none of my business, although I lived in the UK for many years and well remember [...]

  5. [...] BBCが消滅したらいいなんて本気で私が言うだろうか?もちろん違う。このサイトに多大なトラフィックをもたらしてくれるBBCが消えていいなんて思うワケがない(有能で、経営もしっかりした会社だし)。ところがこの発言の一部始終がばっちりビデオに録画されていたのだ。そして、お察しの通り、こちらは激烈(かつ正当)な批判にさらされている(中にはこんなコメントもあるが)。英国には長年住んだ経験がある。あの恐ろしいBBCのテレビ視聴料のこともよく覚えている。でも、たぶん今回の件は最悪、私の仕事には影響がないだろう。 [...]

  6. Dan says:

    If you read the news story carefully, it doesn’t say that children will be able to interact directly with other children. As I interpret it, they won’t – at least not without heavy moderation.

  7. Hello Dan,
    I agree that you can take issue with whether or not the CBBC World project is a social network; however, that’s the term that Mike used in his comment. The aim of my original post was to provide some context around the comment, as I didn’t see this elsewhere.
    I think the key issues here are around the funding model, and the impact on other privately funded startups with similar offerings.

  8. [...] on video and, as you can imagine, I was roundly (and I believe properly) criticized (although see this comment). At best this is none of my business, although I lived in the UK for many years and well remember [...]

  9. Idetrorce says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

